Governor Cuomo announced a joint travel advisory between New York, New Jersey and Connecticut that will require travelers from any states with high COVID-19 spread rates to be put in quarantine for 14 days.

92.9 WBUF logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

According to WIVB, the three states are working in coordination to help keep the COVID-19 rates down in each respective state, and the list of which states fall within the guidelines may shift as infection rates continue to evolve.

The states will use a formula that says if the infection rate of a state is over 10% over the previous seven days, travelers from those states must be put under a 14-day quarantine.

There will be fines put in place for those who do not follow the rules, ranging from $2,000 and up.

Per Governor Cuomo's Twitter feed, COVID-19 rates within the state of New York are at some of their lowest numbers since the pandemic first reached the state earlier this year.

Erie County and Niagara County are also showing some of the lowest numbers since March, per Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz.

CHECK IT OUT: Here's how to stop your glasses from fogging while wearing a face mask

More From 92.9 WBUF