Driving Law Nobody Knows About in New York State
I was driving back from the Finger Lakes this weekend, and saw a sign on The 90 that I had never seen before. It piqued my curiosity to the point that I had to look it up when I got home.
The sign read "New York State Law. Lights must be on when using wipers". Now, in this day and age, many cars have automatic headlights that come on when it gets dark, or when heavy rain starts. But do they turn on when you turn on your wipers?
I had to do a little test when I got home. Turns out, that if I turn on my wipers to simply clean the windshield, my headlights do not come on. So, technically, I would be driving illegally in New York State if I did so on the roads.
Here's a closer look at some headlight laws in New York.
-Motorcycles are required to have their headlights on at all times during the day and at night.
- You are required to use your headlights one half-hour after sunset until one half-hour before sunrise in the state of New York.
-If you are riding a bike on any roadway in the state, you are required to have a white headlight that is visible up to 500 feet and a red taillight visible up to 300 feet when riding between a half-hour after sunset and a half-hour before sunrise.
- You are required to turn your headlights on when your visibility is reduced to 1,000 feet or less.
- And don't forget New York State motor vehicle law section 375 2A which states that if you fail to use your headlights while your windshield wipers are in use, you could be fined up to $150 and 30 days in jail!
So remember, headlights on people!