The National Hockey League on Saturday unveiled its candidates for the Calder Trophy awarded to the Rookie of the Year.  This year it includes Buffalo Sabres defenseman Rasmus Dahlin.  The now 19-year old Dahlin was named along with Vancouver Canucks forward Elias Pettersson and St. Louis Blues goaltender Jordan Binnington.

The winner of the Calder Trophy will be announced during the NHL Awards in Las Vegas in June.  In the history of the Sabres franchise three other players have won the Calder Trophy; Gilbert Perreault (1970-1971), Tom Barrasso (1983-1984) and Tyler Myers (2009-2010).

Dahlin, the Number-1 overall draft pick last year, led all rookie defensemen with 44 points and trailed only Pettersson and Ottawa's Brady Tkachuk among all rookies.  Dahlin's point total was the third-most among 18-year oldt year defensemen in NHL history trailing only Bobby Orr and Phil Housley.

More From 92.9 WBUF